Sierra Club invites you to a seminar on Bison Conservation

Within a single human lifetime, tens of millions of bison were killed until less than a thousand individuals remained in all of North America. Despite over 120 years of hard work, many conservation challenges still face bison today. This is a story you don’t want to miss. It’s a story of twists and turns, from dramatic roundups by Blackfoot and Mexican cowboys, to epic train journeys, “lost” national parks, near-ruinous mistakes, and no small amount of luck.

When: January, 20, 2022 – 7 PM CT (5 PM PT / 6 PM MT / 8 PM ET / 9 PM ATL) 

Our presenter this month will be Lauren Markewicz, a member of our Prairie Chapter’s Executive Committee.

Lauren is a public historian who has come to specialize in the history of bison. She is the author of Through the Storm: Canada’s Bison Conservation Story, a book dealing with the twists and turns of the history of bison conservation in what is now Canada, in both images and text. 

She has worked at various historic sites and natural areas in Western Canada. She likes to spend time on the landscape, hiking and camping, and thinking a lot about the human relationships with and impacts on the land and the other creatures that live there.

close
BEA Logo
BEA Logo

Join our growing list of 136 subscribers

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply